Tags

, , , , , , ,

Wolford's hose in the newest, hottest color.

Wolford’s hose in the newest, hottest color.

Who knew there is a “color of the year?”  And even if you did indeed know that the Pantone Color Institute, in consultation with various designers and other arbiters of taste and fashion, annually decree what the color of the new year would be, I bet you didn’t know that 2015 is the year for marsala.

I certainly didn’t have a clue until, on the way to a business meeting, I stopped by the Wolford’s boutique near where I work to pick up a new pair of hose (what I was already wearing had a huge run), and marsala seemed to be everywhere! Marsala tights, marsala bodysuits, marsala hosiery, marsala lingerie, marsala shapewear.

Much like the fortified wine that gives Marsala its name, this tasteful hue embodies the satisfying richness of a fulfilling meal while its grounding red-brown roots emanate a sophisticated, natural earthiness. This hearty, yet stylish tone is universally appealing and translates easily to fashion, beauty, industrial design, home furnishings and interiors.

Now I know what to say next time I get a crank call or an unwanted message from some stalker type who asks, “What color panties do you have on?”

“Marsala!” I’ll scream.  That might scare him off.

—-

NOTE: If this blog post seems too frivolous, please see my “think pieces” on Medium:

View story at Medium.com

